The library has access to thousands of online journals and magazines.

The answer to your questions! Learn how to make the most of the resources in front of you.

Local History

Discover the beautiful towns of Westerly, RI and Stonington, CT.

State Street

State Street
Battle of the Books List
2021/2022


Beauty and the Beak by Deborah Lee Rose
The true story of Beauty the eagle's rescue and rehabilitation. Beauty has been featured on Nat Geo WILD TV's Unlikely Animal Friends, in the National Wildlife Federation's Ranger Rick magazine, and on the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) EngineerGirl website.

 

Because of the Rabbit by Cynthia Lord
On the last night of summer, Emma and her Maine game warden father rescue a small domestic rabbit stuck in a fence; the very next day Emma starts fifth grade after years of being home schooled, excited and apprehensive about making new friends, but she is paired with Jack, a hyperactive boy, who does not seem to fit in with anyone--except that they share a love of animals, which draws them together, because of the rabbit.

 

Gross as a Snot Otter by Jess Keating
Animal Planet meets Captain Underpants in the ickiest, squickiest, most fart-filled World of Weird Animals book yet, from the creators of Pink Is for Blobfish. The creators of Pink Is for Blobfish are back, and they've brought 17 of their most revolting friends: there are slippery, slimy snot otters, gulls that projectile-vomit on command, fish that communicate via flatulence, and chipmunks that cultivate healthy forests by pooping a trail of seeds wherever they go. But there's more to these skin-crawling creatures than meets the eye, and as zoologist Jess Keating explains, sometimes it's the very things that make us gag that allow these animals to survive in the wild. The perfect combination of yuks, yucks, and eureka!'s, this latest installment in the World of Weird Animals series will inspire budding scientists and burp enthusiasts alike!


Hate that Cat by Sharon Creech
Jack is studying poetry again in school, and he continues to write poems reflecting his understanding of famous poems and how they relate to his life.

 

Her Right Foot by Dave Eggers
In this fascinating, fun take on nonfiction, uniquely American in its frank tone and honest look at the literal foundation of our country, Dave Eggers and Shawn Harris investigate a seemingly small trait of America's most emblematic statue. What they find is about more than history, more than art. What they find in the Statue of Liberty's right foot is the powerful message of acceptance that is essential to an entire country's creation

 

Just Like Jackie by Lindsey Stoddard
Fifth grader Robbie is determined to stay out of trouble so that she does not worry her grandfather whose memory is failing and to make sure that she and her grandfather stay together as he is the only family she has left.


Knights vs. Dinosaurs by Matt Phelan
With the realm at peace and few dragons about, the Knights of the Round Table are bored, so Merlin sends them to face the most terrible lizards of all--dinosaurs.


Margot and Mateo Save the World by Darcy Miller
Waking up to find their town invaded by slug-like aliens, sixth graders Margot and Mateo team up with a visting scientist to save the day.


Maxi's Secrets by Lynn Plourde
Fifth-grader Timminy, who's small for his age and new in town, isn't eager to start middle school--but he gets a great consolation prize in Maxi, a big, deaf, lovable dog


NightBooks by J.A. White
Alex's original hair-raising tales are the only thing keeping the witch Natacha happy, but soon he'll run out of pages to read from and be trapped forever. He's loved scary stories his whole life, and he knows most don't have a happily ever after. Now that Alex is trapped in a true terrifying tale, he's desperate for a different ending--and a way out of this twisted place. This modern spin on the Scheherazade story is perfect for fans of Coraline and A Tale Dark and Grimm. With interwoven tips on writing with suspense, adding in plot twists, hooks, interior logic, and dealing with writer's block, this is the ideal book for budding writers and all readers of delightfully just-dark-enough tales


The Oldest Student by Rita Hubbard
A picture book biography sharing the inspiring and incredible true story of the nation's oldest student, Mary Walker, who learned to read at the age of 116


Save me a Seat by Sarah Weeks
Ravi has just moved to the United States from India and has always been at the top of his class; Joe has lived in the same town his whole life and has learning problems--but when their lives intersect in the first week of fifth grade they are brought together by a common enemy (the biggest bully in their class) and the need to take control of their lives.

 

She Persisted: 13 American Women who Changed the World by Chelsea Clinton
A nonfiction picture book compilation of the stories of 13 American women who persisted in overcoming obstacles and changing the world


Trombone Shorty By Troy Andrews
Hailing from the Tremé neighborhood in New Orleans, Troy "Trombone Shorty" Andrews got his nickname by wielding a trombone twice as long as he was high. A prodigy, he was leading his own band by age six, and today this Grammy-nominated artist headlines the legendary New Orleans Jazz Fest


The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate
When Ivan, a gorilla who has lived for years in a down-and-out circus-themed mall, meets Ruby, a baby elephant that has been added to the mall, he decides that he must find her a better life.